Guerrilla Checkers is an asymmetric hybrid of Checkers and Go.

The Counterinsurgent (COIN) player makes checkers-like movements & captures, they try to capture the Guerrilla's pieces. The Guerrilla player can only place their pieces of intersection of the checkers squares and tries to capture COIN pieces by surrounding them (in a Go-like way).

Controls: keyboard arrows + X key or mouse / touch

COIN makes one move per turn, or captures by jumping over Guerrilla pieces diagonally. They are not forced to capture, but when they start they have to keep capturing until it is no longer possible. Guerrilla places two pieces each turn, the first one adjacent to their existing pieces, the 2nd piece adjacent to the first.

A game of Guerrilla Checkers ends when one side eliminates all other pieces, or when the Guerrilla runs out of pieces to place (their loss). If the Guerilla paints themself into a corner (stalemate), the game ends in a draw.

This game is an adaptation of the original board-game by Brian Train using the NICO game framework by @impbox.

StatusIn development
Rated 4.0 out of 5 stars
(1 total ratings)
Tags8-Bit, Abstract, asymmetric, Board Game, checkers, go, nico, Turn-based, Turn-based Strategy
Average sessionA few minutes


Log in with to leave a comment.

Mischa, it appears when COIN is played by AI, it is moving two COIN pieces in a turn. This breaks one of the most important rules of the game!

Hi Brian, thanks for your bug report!

I haven't yet been able to reproduce this... There used to be a bug where if COIN made a capture, it could continue making (forced) captures with other pieces, however that has been addressed in v0.6. (As I understand the rules, COIN can only move the SAME piece multiple times in a turn as long as it keeps capturing.)

If possible, can you comment on the circumstance when this COIN double moves occur? Does this always happen for you or only rarely? Does it (only) happen when a capture was made? Does it happen with all AI levels?

I've played one game with the AI as COIN, on Level 2 IIRC.

It happened when COIN started to capture; one COIN piece would make captures, then another one would start capturing. 

Seemed to be limited to 2 COIN pieces (IIRC again); I'm not sure if it happened every time it was possible. 

You understand the rules of the game correctly: only one COIN piece moves, and if it starts capturing it must continue to capture (though the path the pieces takes is up to the player; there is no requirement to take the largest number possible).

Thanks for the details, the issue has now been resolved in version 0.7 (famous last words...)